Thursday, June 25, 2015

Because every day is Fairy Day at Siren School

I missed official fairy day yesterday as I was off flitting about. But here's proof (captured by Austrian artist Hans Zatzka, 1859-1945) that the fae were out in force and dancing to their hearts' content.

Fantasy Fitness is going green!

We've all heard the benefits of green-living shouted from the rooftops. From recycling to reducing our carbon footprints, there are innumerable ways we can lead a more organic lifestyle and improve the health of our planet. But did you know the same concept applies to your workout regimen?

In recent years, the practice of 'earthing' (walking barefoot in nature to soak in the soil's inherent energy) has attracted a following, and it's understandable. It's incredibly life-affirming and energizing to connect with the world around us by walking barefoot, breathing unprocessed air, inhaling the intoxicating scents of flora and fauna, basking in natural light, and getting lost in the music of birdsong.

At a time when many people (especially the young) often find their physical activity limited to thumb and finger movements while playing a video game in front of a TV in their living room, the benefits of outdoor exercise have become increasingly vital. Even those who go to the gym on a regular basis may find improved levels of fitness when they 'take it outside'.

Reuters Health writes, "Outdoor workouts left women in a better mood and kept them exercising longer than counterparts who exercised indoors, according to a small study from Canada."

Siren School's Headmistress Joy came to the same conclusion. "The other day I was sprawled out at the bay after the briefest of early summer swims. I closed my eyes as I felt the sand beneath my towel conform to the shape of my body, and I reveled in the warmth of the sun and the sound of the water lapping at the shore. I thought about how I needed to get back into Fantasy Fitness dancing, but nothing could compare to the enlivening experience of being outdoors, and then it hit me. I'd lost sight of what inspired Siren School and Fantasy Fitness in the first place.

It was during a swim at that very same bay, before the intense health challenges of the last few years, that I felt an overwhelming desire to cut loose from societal constraints, and to express myself in the most natural and beautiful ways imaginable. At the time, my initial inspiration included doing aquatic dance in a mermaid tail alongside all of the salt water denizens of that environment. 

Somehow I'd gotten away from that original concept and over time, when working on ideas for teaching Fantasy Fitness, my mind automatically slogged back to the gym and dance studio—not exactly the best environment for female archetype immersion that is such an integral part of the Siren School experience.

Clearly, it's time to get back to basics, which means getting back to nature."

Enter our budding Plein-Air ELEMENTALS series.  Over the next several months, we'll be restructuring select class offerings to adapt them to the great outdoors:

Air 
  • Genie Belly Bliss—These ethereal beings loathe being contained and need to be out in the open air with a view of the sky
Earth
  • Island Drums—Polynesian dance done barefoot, preferably near palms that sway in sync with your hips  
Fire
  • Gypsy folkdance—Barefoot in a park or grove, or better yet, around a campfire
Water
  • Fathoms Deep—Mermaid aquatic dance with tail
  • Blowing Bubbles—Naiad fresh water workout (with legs)

Dance magazine's Let's Take It Outside article by Camille LeFevre offers: "When you do site-specific dance ... you open yourself up to these fabulously serendipitous moments of incredible beauty that you simply can’t plan for.”

Our Plein-Air Elemental classes will be conducted in secluded areas of public spaces, enabling participants to connect with their natural surrounds away from crowds and noise. And class fees will be reduced thanks to the literal lack of overhead.  Contact us to see how you can get involved, either as a participant or instructor. All are welcome.

Fantasy Fitness Elementals - liberating body & soul

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Mid-Summer Shapeover camp 2015

Express your true loveliness, from the inside out!

Fantasy Fitness and the Love Yourself Lovely - Love Yourself Lean program in 2015 for a Mid-Summer Shapeover.

7-week online program runs Mon July 6 - Sun August 23
and includes:

  • Weekly themes to reshape the way you think, move, and behave
  • Daily focus topics with uplifting blogs posts and lots of links to more detailed inspiration
  • A partner participant, ensuring your accountability
  • A private Facebook group just for this activity
  • Recipes & workout tips
  • Interactive online dance classes (one per day; time will be determined by locations of participants) — Participate live via videochat or work out on your own with our private recorded instruction video 
Mondays - Genie Belly Bliss
Tuesdays - Bollywood Blast
Wednesdays - Charleston
Thursdays - Island Drums
Fridays - Salsa Picante

Sign up with friends at a discounted rate
$150 for 1
$225 for 2 (you save $25 each)
$375 for 3 (you save $41.67 each)
$325 for 4 (you save $56.25 each)
(Plunder points earned = #1000)

Participants
 
 




Thursday, May 21, 2015

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Tea, anyone?

Grab a cuppa and confab with us on Facebook & Google+ 
Announcing the new 
Tea Travellers Societea
launching May 21

Societea amenities include:

  • Local Tea Trek meetups
  • Visits to group only tea venues
  • Regional tearoom guidebooks in a variety of formats, each with its own distinctive content
  • Memberships galore
  • Snapshot Tearoom Treasure Hunt
  • Tea trips to exotic lands ... No snickering, British Columbia is pretty darn exotic to us
  • Annual Tea-themed magazine 
  • and oh so much more



Thursday, February 5, 2015

Thank you, Long Beach!

A heartfelt hug and oodles of thanks to whoever nominated us and voted for us for a 2014 Best of Long Beach award. Apparently, we won! ❤




Friday, January 23, 2015

Fantasy Fitness classes ONLINE!

INTERACTIVE online videochat classes for up to 9 students begin March 1, 2015! .Join us for our first series (March 1 - April 11) at a fraction of the cost.

INTRODUCTORY SPECIALS:
1 class/wk for 6 weeks = $25
2 class/wk for 6 weeks = $62
3 class/wk for 6 weeks = $93
4 class/wk for 6 weeks = $118
5 class/wk for 6 weeks = $137
6 class/wk for 6 weeks = $150
UNLIMITED monthly (up too 100 classes) = $75

GENIE Belly Bliss (6 classes per week):
Mon - 9am PDT / 12noon EDT & 4pm PDT / 7pm EDT
Tues - 9am PDT / 12noon EDT
Thurs - 9am PDT / 12noon EDT & 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT
Fri - 9am PDT / 12noon EDT

Class times listed in Pacific PDT zone
BOLLYWOOD Blast (6 classes per week):
Mon - 10am PDT / 1pm EDT & 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT
Tues - 10am PDT / 1pm EDT & 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT
Thurs - 10am PDT / 1pm EDT
Fri - 10am PDT / 1pm EDT

ISLAND Drums (6 classes per week):
Mon - 11am PDT / 2pm EDT
Tues - 11am PDT / 2pm EDT & 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT
Thurs - 11am PDT / 2pm EDT
Fri - 11am PDT / 2pm EDT & 4pm PDT / 7pm EDT

Introductory special (reduced fees) good for purchases made before March 1, 2015
GYPSY (2 classes per week):
Mon - 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT
Wed - 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT

CHARLESTON (2 classes per week):
Tues - 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT
Thurs - 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT

SOCIAL GRACES (1 class per week):
Fri - 6pm PDT / 9pm EDT
Learn how to move in day to day life & carry yourself with elegance and grace

CLASSIC STRIPTEASE... emphasis on tease (1 class per week)
Fri - 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT

WILD CARD - 1 class per week... be surprised!



GROUP 6 week session - Specials price
Enter name(s) of class(es)




1-on-1, 6 week session - Specials price
Enter name(s) of class(es)



If you wish to take a specific number of classes other than those included in our 'specials' price, simply email us at sirenschool@gmail.com to let us know what you have in mind
and we'll get you squared away!